How to Begin A Successful Career as a Hard-Knocks Handy-Person

Truly, I don’t know. I am hoping you can help me with this.

Plainly speaking, I have a friend who is in desperate need of a flexible but lucrative career to balance with his single-father responsibilities. This seems to be what he is most capable of in an immediate sense, even having some background in plumbing.

I have some thoughts on the matter, but I would be greatly obliged if you might share yours on what would be his best way to develop a customer base, build his knowledge of different tasks and learn to run a business.

Keep in mind, time is of the essence, funding doesn’t exist, and there are no bad suggestions.

A Kind of Handy Blog!

Story time!

I was helping to finish an ENTIRE basement these last two days. Drywall is SO. MUCH. FUN. Honestly, I pity the fool that does not take an opportunity to play with this most basic of home-finishing items.

Well, the mud, anyway. Great for flinging at your friends.

Fun aside, I see now how this can be a gargantuan task that is going to be so expensive and time consuming that hiring a more experienced person, or at the very least a helping hand, is required to complete the task.

One of the worst things about learning this hard-knocks is the amount of mess it creates. Without proper planning or someone sweeping behind you as you go, dust ends up… everywhere… and a myriad of tools lay scattered amongst a delirious modernism catastrophe of drywall bits and ends.

Now give up three rooms in a house full of kids for 2 or more weeks while this hurricane winds down!

Idea 1: Old School is the New School

Cards. We’re going to need cards.

In my previous ventures of “starting businesses” I heard a podcast where even though we have all this wild technology and social platforming abilities nothing beats an in-your-face introduction. Business cards may be outdated, but they work! They are probably the smallest investment you can make in your business, but outreach is paramount to success. As a new startup, you can never miss an opportunity to make a new contact. Having a card to pass along is a great way to keep yourself top-of-mind for an individual you may be able to help.

Having that physical item makes you that much more memorable for your prospects.

I’m crossing my fingers my printer still works…

A Kind of Handy Blog: 26, 09, 2023

The printer lives!

No errors whatsoever. I was able to make my buddy Shane a full press-package in a few hours using free templates. I even bought an ink cartridge refill ages ago!

I knew I was hoarding all this junk for a reason!

Now I just need to develop his ad into a functional outreach tool and get him some jobs.

I think an over-the-top portrait session couldn’t hurt. That, and I need to develop some stock images, candid shots and maybe some touchy-feely family-man pieces…

I guess I’m a photographer again.

Idea 2: See One, Lay One

Why not specialize in drywall? I’m sure there is plenty for me to learn and many small jobs that other contractors wouldn’t get out of their chairs for.

I’ve made myself an amusing headshot image and a drywalling advertisement on Kijiji. Maybe it will take off?

A Kind of Handy Blog: 27, 09, 2023

I need to take this a bit slower. Too many ideas, too fast.

I just haven’t been excited about something in a very long time…

I have the cards, I have the old-school, but to leverage an online community would be much faster right now. I have a few of those…

Let me invite you to my personal Discord server, where I collect my favourite people: Warning: I do not consider it child-safe, I do my best to moderate the content.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.